Put Your Mickey Ears Up Baby…

3 May

I recently watched an Oprah special on Lady Gaga that was truly inspiring. Whether or not you are a “little monster”, Gaga’s self-loving message is inspiring and universal. The world wants us to be so many things, but at the same time judges us for every decision we make. Bullies, eating disorders, violence, and intolerance are rampant in the world we live in. She teaches her fans, followers, and really anyone who listens that you should love yourself and stand up for who you are. Being confident in who you are and what you love is powerful and will scare off bullies. We will never be able to please everyone, so why not by happy in our own skin?

This message really spoke to me and I think anyone can reflect on times in their lives where people wanted us to be something we weren’t or picked on us for something they saw as “uncool”. I think most people would view their middle school days as a blur of trying to fit in and be accepted no matter if you were being yourself or trying to be someone else. The great thing is, the older you get you realize that no matter what you do or who you are you are going to have people love you and people dislike you. When you stop trying to be what is “cool” or “popular” and really get into what you love, people just gravitate towards you.

How does this relate to Disney? Well for me I think Disney is one of those things that many people act “too cool” for. I am 28 years old and I go to a Disney destination at least once a year. I am married but we don’t have kids yet. I always have people give me strange looks when I am excitedly counting down to my next trip. But you know what… I couldn’t care less. Those people who think Disney is a kids place or worse think it is come kind of cult, are really missing out on the Disney experience.

I love Disney for so many reasons. First of all… memories! I went to Disney every year as a child with my parents and younger brother. Luckily Disney doesn’t drastically change too often, so it is always nostalgic of my childhood. I have also celebrated many milestones at Disney. I turned 24 and 27 at Disney, have celebrated my anniversary, and celebrated a promotion at work. I love looking back on happy memories and making new ones.

Another thing I love is the innocence and wholesomeness of Disney. When I worked there, we had strict guidelines about hair color, tattoos, piercings, and jewelry. Many people don’t understand it, but when you go there you will appreciate it. It is not that Disney is trying to take away a person’s individuality; it is that you are playing a role in a show. Think of an actress that covers up her tattoos for a specific role, or even Lady Gaga dressing in conservative suit and tasteful makeup when she was interviewed by Oprah. Disney wants that wholesome old fashioned look. Plus tattoos and piercings really don’t go with a long dress and bonnet costume working in Liberty Square.

I also really enjoy watching people relax and have fun like a kid. I visited last September with my husband and another couple and I can’t tell you how much fun we had picking out crazy hats to wear to the “Mickeys Not so Scary Halloween Party”. I love playing in the parks with friends and family!

Disney is just my “happy place”. It is a place where all the magic of childhood is brought to life every day. That optimism, fearless confidence, and zest of life that children have is capture and all ages get to turn back the clock and just enjoy life. For me, it is the fireworks at the Magic Kingdom that gets me every time. When the lights dim, everyone stops and is drawn to the colors in the sky and is amazed to see Tinkerbell fly! If you stop to look around during the firework show, time seems to stand still. No one is checking their smartphone; everyone is captivated by the magic.

If you have never considered a Disney vacation and/or are skeptical about one; please contact me to learn more. You would be surprised all the things you can do at Disney these days! If you want someone to personally take care of all your Disney travel needs, reach out to me for assistance. And if you are a Disney fanatic, put your mickey ears up, baby! Oh and reach out to me as I bet I can still help you with options you are unaware of or discounts that you might not know of.

Make it a magical day!

Julie Hauck *o*

Authorized Disney Vacation Planner

MickeyTravels, LLC

julie@mickeytravels.com

www.mickeytravels.com

Read my Disney Blog!

“Like” my fan page on Facebook!

One Response to “Put Your Mickey Ears Up Baby…”

  1. Melissa May 4, 2012 at 8:24 pm #

    I love this entry!

Leave a comment